Kate Somerville EradiKate 3% Sulfur Daily Foaming Cleanser Review
BeautyBrief™
Brand
Kate Somerville
Product
EradiKate 3% Sulfur Daily Foaming Cleanser
Claims check
You get a clearly dosed 3% sulfur acne treatment with a more comfort-focused cleansing base, while the short contact time and limited public study detail do not establish superior long-term prevention or pore outcomes.
Shopper fit
- Combination
- Oily
- Acne-Prone
Formula flags
- Fragrance
- Added color
- OTC acne medication: 3% sulfur
Shopper preferences
- Cruelty-Free
- Dermatologist-Tested
Key ingredients
| Sulfur 3% | The clearly dosed acne active that gives the cleanser its treatment role for oily, blemish-prone skin. |
|---|---|
| Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate | Provides much of the creamy foaming cleanse. |
| Glycereth-18 | Helps soften the after-feel around the medicated base. |
| Oat Kernel Extract | Adds skin-comfort support around the sulfur treatment. |
| Oligopeptide-10 | Adds formula interest, but its amount is not disclosed and the cleanser is rinsed off quickly. |
Price tier
$$$ Premium
Value check
At the Premium tier, you are mainly paying for a more comfort-focused sulfur-cleansing base, formula extras, and brand experience; the 3% sulfur active itself is not unique to a Premium product.
Where to buy
We may earn a commission through these links at no additional cost to you. This does not affect our BeautyBrief.
Bottom line
If you specifically want a creamy 3% sulfur cleanser and value the formula feel, this gives you a credible Premium option. If treatment mechanism and price matter more than texture, less expensive sulfur or other acne treatments can cover the core job.
If you want a sulfur acne cleanser with a creamier, more comfort-focused base, Kate Somerville EradiKate 3% Sulfur Daily Foaming Cleanser gives you 3% sulfur at the Premium tier. The treatment role is legitimate; the harder question is whether the formula feel and brand experience justify paying more for a rinse-off sulfur wash.

What it claims
Kate Somerville describes EradiKate as a clinical-strength acne cleanser that targets blackheads, pimples, sebaceous filaments, excess oil, and new breakouts without overdrying your skin. The current U.S. page directs you to massage the cleanser over wet skin for 30 seconds before rinsing and also suggests a two-to-three-minute T-zone mask for sebaceous filaments.[1]
The brand reports that 100% of participants showed immediate and one-week improvements in shine, visible pores, oil control, and clarity, while 90% agreed blackheads and congestion improved after one week. Kate Somerville identifies this as an independent clinical study of 30 participants, but the public page does not provide the full protocol, comparator, or longer follow-up needed to judge how durable or clinically meaningful those changes are.[1]
The same official page identifies the cleanser as dermatologist-tested, and PETA currently lists Kate Somerville as cruelty-free.[2]
Claims vs. formula
Your acne-treatment active is sulfur at 3%. That gives this cleanser a real OTC acne-treatment role for oily, blemish-prone skin, blackheads, and sebaceous filaments rather than relying on cosmetic acne language alone.
Sodium cocoyl isethionate and coco-glucoside provide the cleansing, while fatty alcohols, Glycereth-18 derivatives, and glycerin help the whipped formula feel less bare than a stripped-down medicated wash.
Honey, rice bran, oat, boswellia, and oligopeptide-10 add more supporting ingredients. Their amounts are not disclosed, and the standard contact time is only 30 seconds, so they are best understood as formula-supporting extras rather than proof that the cleanser delivers treatment effects beyond its sulfur active.
The optional two-to-three-minute mask changes the contact time and may increase the sulfur exposure on your T-zone. That can be useful if you specifically want the mask step, but it can also increase dryness if your skin is already sensitive or treatment-stressed.
The formula contains fragrance, linalool, and added color. Those ingredients narrow fit if you are fragrance-sensitive or reactive, but the central treatment tradeoff remains sulfur-related dryness and the Premium price tier.
Ingredients that matter
Sulfur 3%: The clearly dosed acne active that gives the cleanser its treatment role for oily, blemish-prone skin.
Sodium cocoyl isethionate: Provides much of the creamy foaming cleanse.
Glycereth-18: Helps soften the after-feel around the medicated base.
Oat kernel extract: Adds skin-comfort support around the sulfur treatment.
Oligopeptide-10: Adds formula interest, but its amount is not disclosed and the cleanser is rinsed off quickly.
Sulfur
Sulfur is a regulated OTC acne active with keratolytic and antimicrobial activity. Modern sulfur-only comparative evidence is limited, and higher strength is not automatically better.
Read the IngredientBriefSodium Cocoyl Isethionate
Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate is a well-established cleansing surfactant often used in syndet bars and gentle washes. Comparative testing supports a relatively mild profile, but the complete surfactant system determines real-world…
Read the IngredientBriefGlycerin
If your skin feels dry or tight, glycerin helps your skin hold moisture. You don't need a high percentage or a separate serum when your moisturizer already works well.
Read the IngredientBriefFragrance
Fragrance is a scent blend added mainly for sensory appeal. Many shoppers tolerate it well, while specific fragrance materials can trigger irritation or allergic contact dermatitis in susceptible people.
Read the IngredientBriefSafety and regulatory context
This is a medicated acne cleanser, not a neutral face wash. If your skin is already dry, peeling, irritated, or using several other acne treatments, adding daily sulfur can increase routine intensity. The optional mask step deserves the same caution because it extends contact time.
What to expect in the short term
You get a creamy foam with noticeable oil-removing power. If your skin is combination, oily, or acne-prone, the supporting humectants and fatty ingredients make the wash feel more polished than a bare sulfur cleanser, but sulfur can still leave your skin dry or tight.
What to expect over time
Consistent sulfur use can support an acne routine when sulfur is a good match for your skin. The one-week study is useful short-term evidence, but the public information does not establish that this cleanser prevents breakouts better over the long term than less expensive sulfur options.
At the Premium tier, you are mainly paying for a more comfort-focused sulfur-cleansing base, formula extras, and brand experience. The 3% sulfur active itself is not unique to a Premium product.
Who it fits
This makes the most sense if your skin is combination, oily, or acne-prone, you specifically want sulfur, and you prefer a creamy medicated cleanser over a more basic treatment wash.
If your skin is dry, sensitive, peeling, fragrance-reactive, or heavily treated, a simpler cleanser or a more targeted leave-on acne step may be easier to fit into your routine.
Compare before you buy
Choose PanOxyl Acne Creamy Wash when inflammatory acne and 4% benzoyl peroxide are the treatment priority and Budget pricing matters more.
Read the BeautyBriefChoose EradiKate when you specifically want sulfur and value the creamier, more comfort-focused cleansing base enough to accept the Premium tier.
Final assessment
Kate Somerville EradiKate 3% Sulfur Daily Foaming Cleanser gives you a legitimate sulfur acne treatment in a more polished cleansing base than a bare medicated wash. The Premium spend is easiest to justify if you specifically prefer this texture and sulfur format; the active itself does not require a Premium price point.
Where to buy
Choose a retailer to view current pricing and availability.
We may earn a commission through these links at no additional cost to you. This does not affect our BeautyBrief.
Last reviewed: October 2026
Sources
- Kate Somerville. EradiKate 3% Sulfur Daily Foaming Cleanser. Current U.S. product page. Accessed October 1, 2026.
Source for current product identity, 3% sulfur active, 30-second daily directions, optional two-to-three-minute T-zone mask, Dermatologist-Tested status, clinical claims, 30-participant study description, and Premium price context. Stored INCI was accepted as verified for this review cycle.
- PETA. Kate Somerville cruelty-free company listing. Accessed October 1, 2026.
Source for the controlled Cruelty-Free Shopper Preference.